R D Burman’s 80s

Since Alex greatly offended me yesterday by suggesting R D Burman was about nostalgia (!) I have drawn up a comprehensive list of his songs just from the 80s (this task would be many times more difficult for the 70s). I have included a representative selection from the entire decade. These aren’t necessarily the very best songs but those that show his range. For this reason I have sometimes left out important songs while including multiple ones from the same album in other instances. I’m sure I’ve neglected a few here. My overall thesis is actually borne out by this selection. RD indiscriminately gave good songs for all kinds of films and barring the Bachchan stuff most of these were flops and hence he got unfairly tagged that way. Eventually the projects dried up for him but whenever he got a chance he kept producing good stuff. To my mind these songs are for the most part better than the competition just as the very best albums of this decade are also by RD by a mile. Perhaps I will make a separate list for the latter at some point.

























































60 Responses to “R D Burman’s 80s”

  1. alex adams Says:

    Brilliant assortment,
    Again I take credit for Squeezing this out of satyam—lol
    Im pleasantly surprised and even amazed to see a few of them there….
    Eg –the Inaam dus hazzar, Manzil Manzil, Bemisaal…
    Its the hidden gems of RDB that give me more pleasure.

    By the way—would be worth transplanting this here—lol

    Dont agree entirely with the link below but an “interesting ” read.
    A cursory glance rings out many such “chronicles of plagiarism”
    But then sometimes it is difficult to prove/disprove and differentiate plagiarism form inspiration from variation from spin…..lol

    http://realityviews.blogspot.com/2010/06/part-two-rdburman-and-his-copied-or.html

    http://realityviews.blogspot.com/2010/06/part-one-rdburman-and-his-copied-or.html

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes there is indeed a difference between plagiarism and inspiration. Nothing more to add to this!

      Like

      • IAMTHAT Says:

        Just a Q…

        ED was never acknowledged in his life time, he was ignored and thn lett alone to die, how many FF awards he got in his prime, thn given later days and Worthless FF fellows than instituted award on his name, As NYT says in respect to oscar, ” Consolation prize for life time ignoring”… He suddenly became Mythic figure after death, and new crop of directors owing single most influence to him and than remix wave.. he mirrors the Pyasa in some way,.. As you said somewhere that how ur peers respect n say abt tells more than volumes of articles… in that respect RD is Matchless…

        Like

  2. Offside Says:

    I thought I was the only staunch RD fan around here!

    Thanks.

    Like

  3. oldgold Says:

    Like food, one music cannot be labelled as better than the other.
    80s is alien to me, and I consider it as the worst period in Hindi film industry, fashion wise, films wise, and especially music wise …. when melody was lost, and though rhythm and beat was made much use of, it was jarringly done. RDB’s music in the 70s was better than in the 80s IMO, and he could never match his father’s talent.
    Not to say that it is’nt the best period according to others satyam included . Hope I haven’t offended you 😉

    The above illustrates my POV about **music and food.**

    I have to say the same about ARR. He’s quite over-rated. Recognition in the west seems to add extra weight to ones perception of talent.
    Which doesn’t mean I haven’t liked his music. I loved it in Kandukondain x2. There was melody *and* rhythm/beat there. In Taal the songs ‘before’ the pop singer period were excellent. The wedding song, the rain song (with an extremely graceful Aishwarya) were among his best…not forgetting JA, and Dil Se (that boat song was fabulous).
    In short, his earlier work was far better than later efforts.

    This is of course as I hear it, and see it….heavily dependent on my personal taste, just as I like my food.

    So,

    Like

    • I see. Are you as clueless about food as music??

      Like

      • oldgold Says:

        LOL!!

        Clues are for those who are searching, investigating, trying to to find answers, once found you don’t need them (and can be called cluless) 😉

        Like

    • I’d actually say RD was more talented than his father.

      Like

    • Filmbuff Says:

      I don’t think one can write off an entire decade as bad. There were quite a few good movies in the 80s – Kudrat, Satte pe Satta, Naseeb, Ek Baar phir, Ek Baar Kaho, Masoom, Angoor, Chashemey Budoor, Mr India, Mandi, Arth – these are a few that com to my mind.

      Like

  4. what a mind boggling collection of some amazing songs. Thanks to Alex for instigating Satyam to come up with this and thanks to Satyam for doing it!

    Like

  5. vatikala Says:

    RD gave good music indiscriminately! He had to. How can he cheat the producer by giving substandard music just because it starred lesser known faces? Will a mother feed the gifted one more nourshing food and neglect the other ones less gifted? Can it be really called waste? Though the films failed, the music lives on.
    Lata, Rafi, Mukesh, Kishore, Asha all sang in their best voices whether the actor is a leading character or a side actor.
    I personally prefer his romantic numbers to his robust ones, though he excelled in both.
    S.D’s music is pure Indian as he was not influenced by western trends.

    Like

  6. Utkal Mohanty Says:

    RD was leagues ahead of his father. Between him and Rahman it’s close call and we will have to wait till Rahman finishes his innings before making a final pronouncement. Both are the closest to a thing called genius we have in film music. The other prodigious talent in Indian music is Ilayaraja. Thee music of these three goes beyond the genre called Film Music.. and is just good music, period. Their work will last a hundred years and more of that I am certain.

    Like

  7. I do not know whether this song is from the 80s but is one of my fav and I think is signature RD – sounds like a simple song but very difficult when you try to sing along!

    Like

  8. I also have to agree with oldgold that I like the RDB of the 70s than the 80s. 80s did not really have any good male singers after the passing away of Kishore and Rafi. Someone also I think had righty pointed out RD ended up giving good music to some really bad films and some indifferent tunes to good films .

    Like

  9. IAMTHAT Says:

    Satyam Thanks for wonerful compilation..
    So good to see so many RD music lovers. I m one such. To me RD comes 1st and thn rest follows….

    Like

  10. salimjakhra Says:

    Sorry, don’t mean to take away the attention from Pancham, but in case anyone is interested (probably not) there’s a nice two part article on Roshan.

    http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=2011%5C05%5C17%5Cstory_17-5-2011_pg9_14

    http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=2011%5C05%5C18%5Cstory_18-5-2011_pg9_15

    Regarding RDB, he’s not in my top five favourite MD’s…i acknowledge he made lots of great songs, but also so much crap!! I def prefer the melody of Madan Mohan, Roshan, Khaiyyam. And in terms ofmore innovative stuff, Salil Da was wicked.

    Like

    • vatikala Says:

      Mine includes Ghulam Mohammad, Naushad, Hemant Kumar, C.Ramachandra, Vasnat Desai, O.P.Nayyar, SJ,SD with the above mentioned.
      But I think here the discussion is about modern music appealing to someone craving for a different sort of music which has less melody, less depth and more style. Which goes with burgers, finger chips and pepsi. It is not to demean anyone but to explain the changing of tastes due to various factors.Meena Kumari is passe and Kareena is in.

      Like

  11. Offside Says:

    Only ardent admireres of RD would know that he was even a better singer than most singers!

    Like

  12. Satyam, why have you not included Love Story in this compilation. I recollect music of this film was very popular and well appreciated.

    Like

  13. Alex adams Says:

    Thanx pranav…lol
    I have a bit of an ability in the art of “instigation” and “inducement”.
    By the way, what do the people(who missed the previous debate on the ghai-arrahaman) thread feel about AR Rahman vs rd burman or even before that , RDB vs SD Burman…..(continuing from that previous thread)
    Also, have a glance at the two links I have put above on the “chronicles of plagiarism- rd burman part1&2)– obviously I don’t agree with that entirely(as always)— hahaha– what do u think– did rd lift those or get “inspired”?

    Like

  14. oldgold Says:

    >did rd lift those or get “inspired”?

    When an iconic thing is copied (like copying Taj Mahal), it’s inspiration, but when copying something not so well known, something obscure then it’s ‘lifting’.

    Like

    • what one wouldn’t give today for the likes of Pritam to be inspired by Mozart!

      Like

      • oldgold Says:

        I was going to link to this song to show a Mozart ‘inspired’ song, but didn’t bother. LOL!

        Like

        • oldgold Says:

          I’m not sure if you linked to it to point out SDB ‘also copied’. LOL:
          But I do prefer him to his son.

          As I mentioned earlier, my personal taste wants melody, in addition to other things. Folk songs can have a dominating beat/rhythm, but an underlying melody is important.

          Like

        • not at all.. I actually find it to be an inspired song in the best sense..

          Like

        • IMO RDB was more verstatile and his output was much more (I think only LP compared to him in terms of quantity).

          Like

      • IAMTHAT Says:

        Never knew…

        I think most MD have copied or inspired by other music.. Salil da take russian revolution song and put it in Do Bheega Zameen.. SJ also did …

        So moot question comes, Is that Deep copy or Shallow copy( here they put there own signature and own it)

        Like

        • But consider those sources.. these were composers well-versed in various musical traditions, or at least knew something of them. Today the problem with someone like Pritam is that he simply lifts pop tunes and so on.

          Like

  15. Thanks so very much Satyam for putting this post up. For me, RD has been the best composer Indian films have ever produced as his sense of rythmn and melody has yet to be matched. As a kid we would watch certain movies even if we thought they weren’t going to be up to much if RD was the composer.

    Infact for the past fortnight when I’ve been on nightshift I’ve been singing RD away to myself with some strange glances from co-workers who haven’t got the faintest idea what I’m singing.

    Like

    • Glad you enjoyed it Aramak.. such a list for the 70s for him would be forbiddingly difficult! Even here I had to leave out stuff. I might put up a post for the best albums of the 80s at some point because I am quite sure they all belong to RD. With the possible exception of Karz and one or two others.

      Like

    • just updated with list with a new one. meant to add this but forgot. Dekho idhar dekho from Phir Wohi Raat. It’s at the end.

      Like

      • songs from Hum Kisse se Kum Nahin, Zamane ko Dikhana Hai, Yadon ki Baraat superb. RD and Nasir Hussain were an awesome combo

        Like

  16. Shalini Says:

    Wonderful post, Satyam. You’ve given me the playlist for the entire day!
    RDB is a personal favorite and while I prefer his work from the 1961-1975 period, I agree that he was still the best thing about the 80s Hindi Film music scene.

    I don’t want to overload the post with YT links, but can’t resist these:

    Yeh zindagi kuch bhi sahi – Romance

    Aisa sama na hota – Zameen Aasman

    Aayega mere sapno ka raja – Kaun Kaisey

    Aur kya ahd-e-wafa – Sunny

    Like

    • All the links are welcome Shalini.. as I said the list was already long enough and I wanted to be more representative but with some of his albums it’s hard to make the choice.

      Like

  17. with Gulzar Intro

    another one from Libaas

    Like

  18. two lesser known RD numbers from the 70s:

    Like

  19. and now a somewhat obscure Kishore number composed by Salil Choudhry (who among other things also composed for the Malayalam classic Chemeen):

    what I did not know before I searched for this video was that the original was sung in Bengali by Lata:

    Like

  20. alex adams Says:

    Agree–French and Bengali are quite sweet..
    ODnt understadn bengali at all except one phrase…
    but the most effective is the eye language—lol
    Useful link–
    http://changingminds.org/techniques/body/parts_body_language/eyes_body_language.htm

    Like

  21. alex adams Says:

    talking of languages—german takes the cake in abruptness derived from brusque cultural inluences—no offence meant to germans—hav some good friends…..lol

    Like

  22. talk to a lady in french,gentlemen in english, rogue in german…Alex, I will have to switch in german to talk to you now….LOL

    Like

  23. vatikala Says:

    I just cant say that bengali is the sweetest but their rosgollahs and other bengali sweets are sinfully great. Their emphasis on Os turn me off and it is a torture for a non bengali to tok(talk) like that. Just like the rolling of Rs in American accents. Anyone who hears Mamta addressing the bengali public will have a different take. German is one language which has more manliness of the military variety.
    Calcutta is so easy for the tongue while Kolkota makes me avoid it. Vande becomes Bande, Vrinda becomes Brinda while Vincent may become Bincent and Viraat Biraat. Batting for B. Big B will be happy.

    Like

    • Superb analysis Vati…agree with ya on all points. Kemon acchey apni? I think Bangali people will say the same thing about us…that Badi becomes Vadi, Brinda becomes Vrinda…for them….so confusing. I guess its like that in all languages. Peter Sellers NEVER fails to make me laugh with his french accent in all the pink panther series or a spanish person speaking English or the VERY best is mallu speaking hindi….btw did you eat your lunj today? hahahahha

      Like

  24. vatikala Says:

    No lunj. My language has very clear and individual phonetics. Guess.

    Like

  25. Tamil

    Like

  26. Bachchan1 to 10 Says:

    Not sure if this was shared, here is a docu on RD. Enjoy friends.

    Like

  27. Superb………..

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.