X-Men: Days of Future Past trailers (updated)

14 Responses to “X-Men: Days of Future Past trailers (updated)”

  1. This seems stuffed to the gills! Hopefully they pull it off. I was personally hoping for more trailer time with Fassbender/McAvoy rather than Jackman/Stewart.

    Like

  2. “Days of Future Past” is arguably the most influential X-Men story ever — re-reading issues 141-142 of the Uncanny X-Men (from over three decades ago), and despite the way Marvel flogged the “alternate timeline” horse to death in the X-Men for years and years, the issues still feel fresh. This film uses that title, but doesn’t seem to have anything to do with that disturbing, dystopian story. Instead, the trailer ends on the “we need you to hope again” note, which translates to the usual feel good BS at the end. Oh well, it’s the fricking X-Men — will have to watch it!

    Like

  3. thecooldude Says:

    I was really hoping that Matthew Vaughn would have continued after X Men First Class (one of the best super hero movies IMO) but he handed it off to Singer to direct it. Doubt this will be as good.

    Like

  4. Lock & Load…it’s going to be a bumpy ride 🙂

    Like

  5. Ha maggie–I enjoy your fun one-liners 🙂

    Like

  6. *grins* 😉

    Like

  7. this is receiving extraordinary reviews so far, here’s an example:

    http://variety.com/2014/film/reviews/film-review-x-men-days-of-future-past-1201177971/

    can’t wait!

    Like

    • jayshah Says:

      I saw the trailer and was interested for sure. My concern is I am lost in terms of where this story is currently. I saw the first three and have missed all the ones since and not sure whether I would have meant to have seen them to watch this one.

      Like

      • You definitely should see X-Men First Class before watching this. If you’d missed one or two in the original trilogy it wouldn’t have mattered as much but First Class is crucial for this one. It also happens to be at least to my mind the best superhero movie ever. Much as I like the Nolan Batman films they are a bit too ‘heavy’ and cerebral (I suppose true to the Miller re-invention but I have a similar problem with those which is not to say that I don’t appreciate all their other strengths) this X-Men achieved a very good balance all round. A rather fluid movie in any case. I wish they’d retained Vaughn here instead of bringing back Singer but the reviews seems to be very strong. The wolverine films are on a separate track and don’t matter to this series but I’d definitely check out First class on DVD if I were you (i.e. before watching the new one). You might even be able to get it on Amazon streaming or something at your end.

        Like

        • on a related note the upcoming Tom cruise might be worth checking out too even if his obsession with sci-fi is getting a bit tiresome. I guess he’s forced to do this as a fading star to generating some sort of initial.

          Like

Leave a Reply

