JayShah BoxOffice Column – Final Collections for Housefull 4

  • Using Film Information data
  • To arrive at current week collections I take previous week and compare with current week to arrive at a weekly % drop
  • I then take my prior week estimate and multiply by the % drop
  • Current week collections = Prior week * % drop (based on like for like centres) * % cinemas drop
  • % cinemas drop is the reported # of cinemas from Film Information – it adds a parameter for size of release for the same film
  • # of Cinemas shouldn’t be confused with screen size as the former is independent variable for a movie whereas latter is something for comparing with other movies

 

I re-adjusted Week 2 for HF4 down to 48Cr from 49Cr as Ahmedabad cinema count in Week 1 should be 31 cinemas and not 15 – so FI data was inconsistent here as Week 2/3 = 31 cinemas and Week 4 = 20 cinemas.

My final numbers for HF4 are 194Cr and this is in line with Bollywoodhungama. I did not see it too necessary to investigate other sources as Addatoday followed Taran initially, then probably BOI. Kadel/Jaiswal basically stopped.

 

@194Cr I’d call it a hit, given the negativity around it’s collections it sustained well enough to have 3 solid weeks at the box office.

 

 

8 Responses to “JayShah BoxOffice Column – Final Collections for Housefull 4”

  1. Munna, I can see the table on my phone but not on laptop?

    Like

  2. Thanks Jay.

    I think even Bharat and Mission Mangal didnt cross 200 cr nett, except for producer figures. All would be in 190-200 cr range.

    Like

    • In HF4’s first week, there is a discrepancy of 13 cr between producer figure (141 cr) and Jay’s estimate of 128 cr.

      Expecting similar extent of inflation in Dabangg 3’s first week numbers too.

      Like

  3. HF4’s final numbers are within acceptable range to media accepted 205-208 Cr.

    Like

  4. I removed table and added screenshot of table. Let me know if snapshot has all data.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.