Mithun’s Zor Laga Ke Haiya

LINK

After playing an idealist in Guru, veteran actor Mithun Chakraborty is ready to play a vagabond in Zor Lagaa Ke Haiya, which he feels can get him another National Award.

You have a very unkempt look in the Zor Lagaa Ke Haiya stills. What do you play in the film?

I am playing a vagabond who lives on the roads but it’s later found that he is actually a National Award winner. He has a lot of self-respect. There are these five kids in the locality who feel that he is a child kidnapper. But subsequently they get to know that he is a nice

man. The film is about relationships and environment awareness. There is a tree in the area which some builders want to cut for their own benefit. This old man helps the kids to save the tree and the kids help unite him with his family and grandchildren. It’s a very emotional film with a great message. It’s worth watching this film.

This film is said to have already won three international awards?

Yes, it’s a great honour. I am hoping that it will be received with equal warmth in India.

What prompted you to do this film?

I haven’t played a character of a vagabond so far. So I thought it was a very challenging role. Moreover, the subject and message are also very good. We have some responsibility towards society. We should contribute something to society in whichever way we can. It’s not always about the money.

Do environmental issues concern you?

When I pass the trees which are planted on the sides of roads, I feel they must be in so much difficulty because they have to bear the pollution of so many vehicles. That is why the leaves today are no more green but almost black. I have a resort in Ooty. When I got that land, it had only two trees; now it has three lakh trees. Now it looks like a forest. I have those pictures for the record. But I like to do everything quietly without publicising it. If you come to my house in Madh Island you will find only trees and trees around. I also won the Best Garden award in Ooty.

Was it difficult to play a vagabond for Zor…?

It was painful to act for 14-15 hours wearing a beard and a wig. I will never do another film with a beard and a moustache. (During the shooting) I never let them wash the costumes I wore! I didn’t want the role to lose its essence. Girish (Joshi, the director) is a very hard taskmaster. After watching the film, it looks as though it was worth it (laughs).

You were terrific in Guru. Do we see you working with Mani Ratnam again in future?

I hope so.

You were the dancing star of the Eighties. Who do you think could give you tough competition today?

I think nobody can; because I have my own style.

You have lived a very comfortable life for the last three decades. Are you still rooted to your humble beginnings?

It’s a dangerous question. I don’t think I have forgotten my roots. I am very much grounded and scared. I never take my life for granted.

Why are you scared?

Because I don’t have faith in tomorrow … that’s why I live today. Of course, there are some things that remind me of my past.

Like what?

That you will see in the film (Zor Lagaa…)

Was it easy working with kids?

We had a great time fighting and making fun of each other.

You have won three National Awards before. Do you expect a National Award for this film?

Yes, it is one of my best movies. I won’t be surprised if I get another one (laughs).

One Response to “Mithun’s Zor Laga Ke Haiya”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.