Santosh Sivan’s ‘starring’ role in Makaramanju

LINK

Ace cameraman Santosh Sivan is turning hero with art house director Lenin Rajendran’s Malayalam film Makaramanju (Winter Mist).

He will be playing the famous painter Raja Ravi Varma in the film.

Karthika, yester year actress Radha’s daughter who made her Telugu debut in Nagarjuna’s son Nag Chaitnya’s debut film Josh a few weeks back, will play Santosh’s heroine in the film.

Says Santosh: “ For the last one year Lenin has been asking me to do the film on the life and times of Raja Ravi Varma, but I was busy with Mani Ratnam’s Raavan. Finally I agreed after completing Mani’s film, because I admire Raja Ravi Varma’s paintings. As a child I grew up on the folklores surrounding his painting and in later years when I started painting, I believe that I have acquired my visual aesthetics from this legend.”

The shoot of the film will take place from next week in Thiruvananthapuram and later on the Goa coast.

2 Responses to “Santosh Sivan’s ‘starring’ role in Makaramanju”

  1. The film sounds interesting..

    Like

  2. It does but good lord they’re really turning Verma into the next Bhagat Singh with all the biopics planned on the man…Ketan Mehta, Shaji Karun were both supposedly mulling this over.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.