Film critic Nikhat Kazmi passes away…

SM provides this sad news…
LINK

Times of India’s film critic Nikhat Kazmi lost a bitter battle with cancer on Friday morning. Narayani Ganesh, her longtime colleague and Editor of The Speaking Tree pays her a tribute.

When I went up to Nikhat in her cubby hole on the third floor with the proposal that she write for the new ‘happy’ Sunday newspaper that was to launch soon, she didn’t bat an eyelid. “Sure,” she said, smiling. “How many words do you want and what’s the deadline?” And so the very first issue of the Sunday Speaking Tree on February 28, 2010, was launched with Nikhat’s story as its lead.

In ‘Reel Soup For The Soul’ she effortlessly walked the reader through deep spiritual insights that ran like subterranean streams beneath the plots in recently released films like Avatar, The Dark Knight, My Name Is Khan and Three Idiots. And the last issue of that year, on December 26, once again had Nikhat sharing her views on why we are no longer shy of admitting shades of grey in our celluloid heroes. She called it ‘Nothing Absolute,’– referring to films like Dabangg, Rajneeti, Raavan, The Immortal, Inception and Wall Street 2 whose protagonists, unlike conventional ‘good boy’ heroes, revealed negative streaks.

Nikhat Kazmi might have grown to become an iconic film critic through the columns of The Times of India but to most of us in the Times family, the taciturn lady from Allahabad was an ever-obliging colleague. She would happily pitch in with stories or editorials on entertainment, drawing on her daunting reserve of information from having seen thousands of films and interacted with as many creative people from the industry.

From reporter and special correspondent to head of The Sunday Times of India (STOI), Delhi Times and more recently the Newspaper In Education edition of TOI, her versatility as writer and editorial leader has never been in question.

A colleague who was a rookie foreign affairs desk person when Nikhat was leading STOI recollects one Saturday night when she failed to make the designated page despite the deadline drawing dangerously close. Unable to deliver, she went to Nikhat and confessed, wringing her hands in despair.

“Nikhat was so cool,” she remembers. “All she said was, ‘Show me the page. Here, put this picture there; cut four lines from here, shorten that heading…’ Lo and behold, it was all done in a matter of minutes. She could have yelled at me or something, but she didn’t.”

Always elegantly turned out, she would acknowledge your greeting with a nod, her kohl-lined eyes creasing into a smile that would vanish just as soon as it appeared, as she focused on work at hand. Her trademark attire was those neatly starched chikan-worked kurtas and churidars and long skirts when she was not the lady in black.

We’ll miss you Nikhat.

35 Responses to “Film critic Nikhat Kazmi passes away…”

  1. Had no idea she was suffering from cancer..

    Like

  2. omg

    rip

    satyam: just few time back we where discussing about her style of reviews infact one of few who tend to spek her mind in times of paid reviews and paid bo reviews( most of them where against norm)

    after rangan i will always had her as 2nd best commercial reviewer in india

    Like

  3. RIP

    Like

  4. ideaunique Says:

    honestly, i really liked her review styles the most. RIP NK.

    http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/entertainment/movie-reviews/hindi/Ghost/movie-review/11460170.cms

    that means on 13th Jan’2012 – she wrote her last review? vow, work till the end….

    Like

  5. RIP !!!

    Like

  6. Film critic Nikhat Kazmi dies

    Senior film critic Nikhat Kazmi died here early Friday morning after battling cancer. She was 53. Nikhat is survived by her son Rehaan, 26.Kazmi had been writing for The Times of India for over two decades, and her reviews of “Sadda Adda”, “Chaalis Chaurasi”, “Ghost” and Hollywood film “Blitz” had appeared just last week.Her illness did not keep her away from catching up on movies — she used to come in a wheelchair to watch them, and continued to give her feedback to her readers.

    The Hindi film industry was in mourning for the writer, whose reviews made a difference to many lives. Actors like Abhishek Bachchan and Neil Nitin Mukesh took to Twitter to share how her feedback always helped them fall in place.

    Here’s what some of the actors, filmmakers and critics had to say:

    * Abhishek Bachchan: The first ever review I read of ‘Refugee’, my first film, was by Nikhat Kazmi. She always pointed out the road to improvement to me. RIP ma’am.

    * Karan Johar: Was truly shocked to hear about the untimely death of Nikhat Kazmi…the TOI critic of several years…prayers and thoughts with her family. Death is always a reminder of life that most of us do not lead.

    * Akshay Kumar:Tragic news. Extremely sad to know about the demise of Nikhat Kazmi, one of the most persistent film critics. Am sure wherever you are, it’ll be a five star rating, RIP. May God give strength to your loved ones.

    * Neil Nitin Mukesh: Nikhat Kazmi ji the one person who has always encouraged me. Wrote so beautifully and one film critic I respected a lot! May her soul RIP

    * Bipasha Basu: Life is so unpredictable.RIP Nikhat Kazmi.

    * Sonam Kapoor: RIP Nikhat Kazmi. What sad news to hear first thing in the morning.

    * Madhur Bhandarkar: The country lost one of the finest film critics today. RIP Nikhat Kazmi, may god give strength to your loved one!

    * Omar Quereshi: Tragic news. All of Times Group mourns for Nikhat Kazmi, renowned TOI movie reviewer, who passed away. RIP Nikhat in that big cinema in the sky.

    * Taran Adarsh: Deeply saddened by the news of Times of India movie critic Nikhat Kazmi’s demise. RIP.

    * Sangeeth Sivan: Shocked at the news of Times of India Movie Critic Nikhat Kazmi’s demise – RIP.

    * Priyanka Chopra: Shocked at the news of nikhat kazmis sad demise.. She just reviewed Don 2.. Wow..unpredictability of life..RIP..my prayers to her family..

    * Arjun Rampal: RIP Nikhat.

    * Tusshar Kapoor: Sad to hear that Nikhat Kazmi is no more. She was a positive person, may her soul rest in peace!

    * Farhan Akhta: RIP Nikhat.

    * Dia Mirza: RIP Nikhat Kazmi. A beautiful large theatre, with the coziest seat n all your favourite movies await you:) #respect

    * Dino Morea: RIP Nikhat Kazmi.

    * Ken Ghosh: Sad to hear about the demise of Nikhat Kazmi film critique of the Times of India

    * Hansika:RIP Nikhat may her soul rest in peace.

    * Mahesh Bhatt: Nikhat Kazmi was generous! Having come to terms with mortality she made it a point to look for something good in every film she viewed.

    * Kailash Kher: Nikhat Kazmi ka nidhan ek Dukhdaayee Khabar hai, pahle hi film Vishleshak kam hain, God Bless the departed soul, Prayers for family

    * Neha Dhupia: Saddened to hear about nikhat kazmi, Each time she praised or criticized me I wanted to do better… Her words always encouraged! RIP

    http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/Film-critic-Nikhat-Kazmi-dies/eventcoverage/11566559.cms

    Like

    • She was a positive person. Never went on record looking for flaws in a film. Truly in love with cinema, and always managed to write something good about the films she reviewed.

      Like

  7. A shocking bit of news..

    Had no idea about her condition. She was one of the most famous film critics.

    RIP

    Like

  8. karankumar@comcast.net Says:

    Now I don’t know this for sure, but it seems like her last movie was Players. It appears that seeing after seeing Abhishek in Players, see could take it no more 🙂

    RIP

    Like

  9. Never cared for her uneducated reviews, but sad news nonetheless.
    RIP

    Like

    • uneducated? i dont think thats something you should say about someone’s work if you do not agree to it.

      There were times when I thought Nikhat and I had seen two different movies when my opinion didnt match with hers, but I admired that she liked the films for whatever they are. I remember her praising SLB’s vision in Saawariya as well as SRK’s Ra One attempt, even though I didnt agree in both cases. And she didnt hold any bias for a particular actor or production house

      Like

      • Ami (formerly 'Annoyed') Says:

        Bored- that is a very uncharitable and distasteful thing tp say about somebody who has just passed away.

        It’s remarkable how she worked until her last moments- R.I.P.

        Like

  10. Sad!
    Rest in peace.

    The only reviewer who suited my tastes.
    I thought her too highly educated to try and prove it by ripping films apart .

    Like

  11. This is shocking news. Talented people seem to leave the world too soon. RIP.

    Like

  12. Was shocked to read about her passing. So sad , passing away at 53–hardly an age to die…but cancer has become such an all pervasive disease these days, it’s scary…RIP Nikhat Kazmi, you were never a Raja Sen with attitude, more of a ‘let’s look for the good ‘ sort of critic.

    Somebody above termed her undecuated as a critic. Now THAT’s an uneducated thing to say. All opinions hold their own validity.

    And as for the person who brought in Abhishek. and Players….not done.

    Like

    • ideaunique Says:

      agree LS…..Satyam, if people can’t respect someone’s death and write such downright stupid stuff – they don’t deserve a place on any blog where the ultimate aim is to share the joy of cinema – criticism/diff. of opp. is another thing but this????

      shame on those who write such things

      Like

  13. Really shocked at this…most untimely….even more shocking is some of the earlier downright insensitive & stupid comments on this post !

    Like

  14. RIP; I had no idea she was suffering from cancer, too young to die for sure.

    Like

  15. RIP. Incredibly shocking and tasteless remark by this Karan dude!

    Like

    • karankumar@comcast.net Says:

      Pranav

      I walk barefoot in my Loro Piana through a nudist colony. If the ambience does not bother you, why selectively pick on trivial issues, like my bare feet.

      NK is dead, may her soul rest in piece. Don’t exploit her death to score points.

      Like

      • I like to needle people. It makes my day. My day is usually very interesting but things like these just enhances it so I go for it. Sorry you were the casuality today. No offense.

        Like

      • “Don’t exploit her death to score points.”

        LOL, the objection many have here is that you did precisely this!

        Like

        • karankumar@comcast.net Says:

          Satyam

          There is no denying that I expressed the first thought that came to my mind. A forum such as this is ideal for such discussion. Look at my original comment, you will find typos, grammatical error, i.e. signs that support my ”the first thought” claim. I even moderated my comment with a smiley (I rarely do smiley) just to signal that I have not yet given a serious thought to this.

          Parisian reactions made me think a little more.

          Some background, perhaps is needed, to proceed further. For years I have considered Abhishek a poster child of absence of talent. I feel I am being tortured whenever I sit through Abhishek’s interpretation of any role. I have even rated Emraan Hasmi higher than Abhishek, something that has now been validated (but I was the first to openly state it).

          While in background mode please keep in mind, I don’t love or hate anybody, I just sincerely express cold facts/thoughts. You may like some, you may not like others, but that cannot govern my thoughts or restrict my expression. The good news is that I support what I say, I don’t merely make statements.

          Clearly the lovely Ms NK was living a productive life even with cancer. Then, at some point she lost hope and let go of her life. One day she reviewed Players and the next day (or soon therafter) she was gone. To blame cancer is to reach for the low hanging fruit. I don’t subscribe to mundane, I seek to explore all possible answers. Now, I accept that I may be projecting my pain and seeing things through the prism of my experience, but on hearing about NK’s death my first thought was did the pain from watching Players (the last movie she reviewed) finally did her in. I know how painful it was for me.

          From now onwards, everytime a critic reviews an Abhishek movie, I will pray for him/her. Clearly if another critics dies after seeing an Abhishek movie, my doubts will be confirmed. I hope I am wrong.

          May NG’s soul rest in peace. A decent life cut short by cancer (was it really cancer?).

          Like

        • Can’t you let it go?
          You’re digging yourself into a hole with stranger and stranger comments.

          BTW the last films to be reviewd by her were;
          “Sadda Adda”, “Chaalis Chaurasi”, “Ghost”

          Like

        • karankumar@comcast.net Says:

          I feel relieved. Thank God.

          Like

        • salimjakhra Says:

          “To blame cancer is to reach for the low hanging fruit. I don’t subscribe to mundane, I seek to explore all possible answers. Now, I accept that I may be projecting my pain and seeing things through the prism of my experience, but on hearing about NK’s death my first thought was did the pain from watching Players (the last movie she reviewed) finally did her in.”

          What a load of BS

          Like

  16. RIP….

    Like

  17. RIP .. She was great critic and this is stunning that she saw movies and write reviews till last moments .. incredible.

    Like

  18. RIP…she was like kind hearted to majority of the movies and kind of person who doesn’t like to rip apart a movie for the sake of it.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.