On Ram Sethi..

thanks to Yakuza…
LINK


The name Ram Sethi may not ring a bell, but a quick look at his photograph (top, left) should be enough to prick your memory.

Known as Pyarelal, the actor has played Amitabh Bachchan’s sidekick in several films like Zanjeer, Muqaddar Ka Sikandar and Yaarana.

At the ripe age of 73, he has returned to the limelight with an advertisement for the Hero Maestro scooter.

“People are recognising me once again. “I have got so many calls after the advertisement went on air,” he says, obviously delighted with the response. “Rajkumar Hirani has approached me for his next film Peekay. I am also in talks with Farhan Akhtar’s production house for a film.”

Sethi walks down memory lane with Sonil Dedhia, and talks about his journey in the film industry.

Early Days

I came to Mumbai from Delhi for the first time in 1962 to try my luck in films. We were eight brothers and one sister. My father told me he would give me Rs 150 for six months.

I didn’t find much success and went back. I came back in 1964 and met (filmmaker) Ravi Tandon, who was not making any films at the time but assured me he would allow me to work with him. I went back to Delhi.

It wasn’t till 1968 that I became a part of the film industry. And I haven’t looked back since.

I joined the Children Film’s Society as an associate director on an Indo-Russian film called Black Mountain, assisting M S Sathyu.

I went on to work with directors G R Sethi, Satyendra Goel and S Sukhdev who made documentaries. I didn’t have a house in Mumbai. I stayed with Shabana Azmi’s cousin Ishan Arya who was a renowned cameraman.

for more follow the link..

4 Responses to “On Ram Sethi..”

  1. this was a good read even if I always found him supremely irritating on screen!

    Like

  2. His bachchan admirers roles from MKS and Namak Halaal were most loved.

    K.C Bokadia tried to re-create same magic with Shakti kapoor in Lal badshah .. but he hammed like anything.

    Like

  3. He was the man who caught all the bottles that Sikandar was throwing out …..
    arrey miyan, hum toh tumhe samundar mein doobeney laaye they, tum toh khud samundar ko pee gaye !!!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.