Knight of Cups trailer

thanks to GF…

2 Responses to “Knight of Cups trailer”

  1. GF:

    Unmistakably a Malick movie…though I do like some of the darker frenetic stuff in the first half of this trailer. It’s a nice change of pace from his more typically measured stuff:

    Like

  2. Back when we spoke to Antonio Banderas for The Expendables 3, he admitted that he had no idea what was to come from his participation in Terrence Malick’s upcoming film Knight of Cups, but he was sent images for approval, so he was hopeful that he did make the final cut of the Hollywood-set drama. Sure enough, eight months later, the trailer dropped and Banderas does make an appearance in the footage.

    However, when I brought up Banderas’ appearance in the trailer during our recent interview for his latest release, The SpongeBob Movie: Sponge Out of Water, the actor wasn’t even aware he appeared in that footage. He was thrilled to get the good news, laughed and noted:

    “I didn’t know that while I was shooting it. It was one of the questions that I made to the director. ‘Am I gonna be in the movie?’ ‘Oh yeah, you’re gonna be in the movie, of course. That’s why you’re here.’ And then I saw everybody on the camera team saying, [whispering] ‘We don’t know.’”

    Even though Banderas participated in the production without knowing if his work would ever make it to screen, it certainly sounds like an unforgettable shoot. Here’s how he described the experience:

    “I arrived to the set and basically what he said to me, he says , ‘Antonio, we didn’t send you a script because we don’t have a script and so this monologue that I gave you,’ which literally didn’t make sense whatsoever, ‘I’m gonna shoot it in nine different locations and I’m gonna just improvise with you, and I’m gonna send you something that I call torpedoes.’ And these torpedoes, they were people that came in the middle of the monologue and started improvising with me. He sent me a beautiful woman, he sent me an old lady, he sent me a bunch of three guys that are rappers. I ended up in a pool with three ladies with my tuxedo.”

    To help put the project into perspective a bit better, I asked him if he was reading that monologue as himself or as a character. Here’s what he said:

    “I don’t know, actually. I don’t know. But I am very curious to see what this genius of movies did.”
    So, not much clarity there, but it only makes me more curious to see what Malick put together. The film is due to premiere at the Berlin International Film Festival on Sunday, February 8th so first reactions will likely hit the web soon thereafter. The film has an epic cast that also includes Christian Bale, Cate Blanchett, Natalie Portman, Brian Dennehy, Isabel Lucas, Imogen Poots, Wes Bentley, Freida Pinto, Teresa Palmer, Armin Mueller-Stahl and the voice of Ben Kingsley.

    http://collider.com/knight-of-cups-antonio-banderas-character/

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.