An Jo’s brief note on KAITHI


What a movie!! WHAT! A ! MOVIE! Karthi rocks in his avatar as a prisoner out with a motive only to see his daughter who’s in an ashram and to ensure her good life. This is an absolute fantastic twist to the ‘Tamil’ masala template. The movie is so focused, so straight-focused narrated, it’s a joy!

Suffice it to say, it’s a simple, linear story of a prisoner being used to help a bunch of cops retain a criminal gang in the cell, with the dangling bait of a better life for his daughter. It’s just a one-night story, if you will, but boy, oh boy, it is an absolute terrific mix of masala and realism.

The cinematography is brilliant to say the least — mostly shot at night; with bright lights focusing on the characters. There is an absolutely terrific truck chase/action sequence utilizing a lorry chase sequence and it’s a squash-your-ass-moons on the seat. It’s a 10 minute stretch and exquisitely shot. Terrific usage of the dark night and the colors.

Never been a fan of karthi in his masala avatar — I meant the ‘Tamil/South Indian’ masala avatar, but here, he superbly underplays his role: So much so that when he jumps out of the truck with dry leaves flying, you cannot help but whistle..

A must, MUST-WATCH!! And that’s me, a ‘North-Indian’ talking on the basis of watched this movie today in the theater with third-class English sub-titles…

8 Responses to “An Jo’s brief note on KAITHI”

  1. Ha Munna you put this up as a post!! Honestly, it was just a comment – I am short of words actually in describing this movie..I might watch it again.

    Again, highly recommended..

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Here the trailer of Assamese Film “Aamis” (Ravening) Directed by Bhaskar Hazarika

    Anurag Kashyap Presents Aamis (Ravening) | Assamese Film | First Look | Coming to Screens 22.11.19

    Aamis Poster : https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EEVJds_VAAA-sc8.jpg

    Like

    • Thanks much for this trailer xbodo: Unfortunately I am a vegetarian and am ‘intolerant’ toward non-vegetarian/meat food. However, I see this as a promising film and hope people appreciate this. It’s a very good trailer.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Krish! How is BIGIL versus KAITHI in Tamil Nad? I hope KAITHI wins, or at least gets equal support…

    Like

  4. We just saw the movie yesterday and it blew me away – I didn’t had high hopes for Tamil movies especially the masala ones with loose & illogical story line, dumb heroines, out of place song sequences. I rarely watch new movies (my fav been those old movies starring Sivaji and MGR).

    I had the same low expectations when my family ‘dragged” me to watch it. I predicted I would be sleeping most of the time but no, it did not happen.

    Lokesh kept the storyline to the core, precise & focussed and keep us on the edge – giving enough frustrations on the villain’s gains and then whacks back with a good comeback. Sam C S’ background was a killer and I can’t wait to hear the full soundtrack on it’s own. This is HOW movies SHOULD BE made.

    P.s. nice touch on George Maryan character as Constable Napoleon

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.