Kamal Haasan on Nayakan 25 years later..

thanks to Andy..
LINK

Whether it’s the story of Caesar or Gandhi or the Rotary Club, it starts off as something very small, without the respect it deserves. Nayakan was no exception. We never thought it would be selected as one of Time magazine’s 100 greatest films of all time, or that people will remember it after 25 years. We just wanted to be different.

Perhaps due to my insecurity about dropping out of school, I’ve always surrounded myself with writers and thinkers, and one such person I met was Subramaniam, whom friends called Subbu and who eventually became Mani Ratnam. He was introduced to me by Kitty (Raja Krishnamurthy). Kitty was the manager at Chola Sheraton. We used to call him “Chola” Krishnamurthy. Mani, then as now, was a quiet man, and Kitty used to explain Mani’s ideas. Slowly I started liking the silent man more— not that I liked Kitty less, but I thought this guy was deep. Only after he signed up for Nayakan did I realise that he was the son of ‘Venus’ Ratnam Iyer, with a deep-rooted connection to Tamil cinema. I knew he was GV’s (the financier G. Venkateswaran) brother, but the Venus connection never struck me and he never threw this fact at my face.

This was the time I was writing Raajapaarvai, which came out in 1980. Mani wanted to know about the nuances of screenwriting. He used to love a Joseph Hayes novel called The Long Dark Night. He said he wanted to write something like that. We kept discussing various stories. We were all fans of Francis Ford Coppola and The Godfather. We kept saying how long could Tamil cinema keep showing the underworld as people with checked shirts and a kerchief knotted around the neck and laughing like the old villain P.S. Veerappa.

Then Mani said he was doing his first film in Kannada, Pallavi Anupallavi. I was busy with Raajapaarvai, and I was also getting into Hindi films, so I couldn’t do this film. But we kept meeting and talking. After making Vikram, in 1986, I realised I should have asked Mani to direct it. It was his cup of tea. He asked me what had happened, because the story was so different from what I’d told him. I told him that this was bound to happen. I said, “The intelligence of (the writer) Sujatha and Kamal Haasan was bound to be diluted by Kodambakkam. It will happen to you too.”

A little later, the producer-director Muktha Srinivasan, with whom I’d made films like Simla Special, said he wanted to make another film with me. I suggested Mani Ratnam’s name. He was amused because the hero usually suggests the name of the heroine in the film, and here I was recommending a director.

Mani told me two stories. One was a gangster story. He said it was based in Bombay. I said that was the way to go, because the film, then, would have a national reach. Muktha Films had a reputation for being tight-fisted. When Mr. Srinivasan heard that we wanted to shoot in Bombay, he wasn’t happy. He just wanted us to make a film — any film — that would net him a profit of Rs. 5 lakh. That is how he was used to working. Films were a business. He wasn’t interested in films as art.

But we said we’d shoot only part of the film in Bombay, and he half-heartedly agreed. Then, we wanted an international look for the action scenes. Unlike Tamil films of the time, Mani had marked out a separate budget for the action, around Rs. 12 lakh. We flew down Jim Allen, the action director and cinematographer, from England. He’d worked out the stunts for films like Sholay. But Mr. Srinivasan packed him off after three days, saying he couldn’t afford him. “We can’t keep spending like this,” he told me. “I think Hindi films have spoilt you.”

for more follow the link..

37 Responses to “Kamal Haasan on Nayakan 25 years later..”

  1. What a shot that is!

    Great read too..

    Like

  2. Superb piece by Kamal Hasan…….love Nayakan as a movie too !!!

    Like

  3. Very interesting to know little known facts about Kodambakkam industry at that time. Under such tight fisted atmosphere, to make films like Nayakan is really an achievement. When this same Ratnam started spending money bw style, his films have also lost some sheen just like Kamal Hasan’s recent ventures have done.

    Both have them should do something to get back to that past glory qualitywise.

    Like

    • I have really liked all of mani’s Hindi Films except Raavan….
      have seen two non hindi films- nayakan and Iruvar both of them are class apart…

      Like

      • you should check out Kannathil Muthamittal. You are guaranteed to like this.

        On Iruvar I’d say the first half of the film is the best directed, from an auteurist perspective but within the bounds of commercial cinema, of any Indian film I’ve ever seen. David Desser once said of Seven Samurai that you could watch any 4 min of the film and see more varied visual artistry on display than in any other film he could think of. Not to make any sort of absurdly direct comparison here but I consider something similar to be true for that first half of Iruvar vis-a-vis all other Indian films that could be loosely defined as commercial/mainstream.

        Like

        • hmm.. do not know enough to agree or disagree on that Suggestion regarding Iruvar’s first half…I was waiting to read th book before reading your review but Now I read it anyways… I will disagree with mani that Raavan was Abhishek’s best performance ..I will take his Guru performance any day over Raavan, not suggesting he acted badly in the film , in fact I quite liked his performance lekinn Pichchar he bas thee toh performance kya karega…..lol

          Like

        • on visual artistry – hmm- Delhi-6, HDDCS, Dil Sey, Lagaan, RDB, Hum, Khuda Gawah, Ghulami, LOC come to mind…..

          Like

        • however, Visual treat- Kareena in Asoka, katrina in boom, Manisha in Dil sey .., Dimple in saagar and bobby, Sridevi in Mr. India, Ramya in Parampara, madhuri in beta, Moon Moon sen in andar Bahar come to mind…..LOL

          Like

        • Kareena looked gorgeous in Ashoka- the best she has ever looked IMO. Who is Moon Moon Sen- related to Aparna Sen? BTW Aparna Sen was a very beautiful actress (and still looks very elegant.

          Like

        • Re: “Who is Moon Moon Sen- related to Aparna Sen?”

          No, Moon Moon Sen is Suchitra Sen’s daughter (the mother was in Gulzar’s Aandhi, but had a long and celebrated career in Bengali cinema). Moon Moon’s own daughters are Raima and Riya Sen. The director Aparna Sen is also the mother of an actress: Konkona Sen.

          Like

        • Thanks for the info Q. I did know that Konkana is Aparna’s daughter but I haven’t heard of Moon Moon.If I remember rightly- Satyam is a huge fan of Suchitra Sen. Who are your favourite Bengali actresses? I really like Sharmila and Aparna, and more recently Radhika Apte.

          Like

        • Suchitra Sen and a younger Aparna Sen. the former might be my all time favorite Indian actress. Sharmila Tagore is among my top 2-3 favorite actresses in Hindi cinema.

          Moon Moon sen incidentally is Suchitra’s daughter not Aparna’s.

          Like

        • on recent watch liked thiruda thiruda alot

          mani , ramu and rahman together have really created innovation being trend setter…. barfi’s bank sequence robbery saga was inspired from it

          really like mani ratnam for giving maximum new thing to indian film industry

          Like

      • A note on Baradwaj Rangan’s ‘Conversations with Mani Ratnam’

        one of the strongest chapters in the book is on raavan/raavanan.

        Like

  4. tonymontana Says:

    was coincidentally watching Nayakan last night. didnt realize it’s been 25 years.

    Like

  5. “Perhaps due to my insecurity about dropping out of school, I’ve always surrounded myself with writers and thinkers”

    There is something so appealing about people who make it big in the Indian film industry and still remain humble and self-aware despite all the adulation, wish the Bollywood actors of today would take note and stop being so insufferably arrogant.

    Like

  6. Ami – I spent almost 20 minutes to find a link to a 2008 interview which Moonmoon sen did with Vir Sanghvi and had him blush. That interview pretty much defines her. For some starnge reasons that video has become private now….. may be Munna will be able to help find it !!
    I tend to like the dusky Moonmoon sens, Malvika Tiwaris , Frieda pintos, Anu agarwals , Indira Varmas of the world….LOL!!

    Like

    • myselfaamir Says:

      May i add Nandita Das, Smita Patil, Kajol to your list!!

      Like

      • thanks aamir, how could I forget Nandita Das and Kajol..Smita patil – not much a fan of her !!
        aside- aajkal Huma Qureshi and Richa chaddha badee pasand aa rahee hai Namak hai dono mein !!

        Like

        • If Moon Moon Sen could make Vir Sanghvi blush- she must really be something! 😛 I’ve seen his interviews with a few other actresses, where he is bullying them terribly and they look very uncomfortable.

          Like

  7. This was an excellent read. The insight offered here is just a gift.

    Like

  8. A solid thwack reply from producer Muktha V Srinivasan. Interesting comments too. So both sides have spoken. Now what’s the truth? Anyway, good publicity of a sort for next Kamal vehicle, dues soon — Vishwaroopam.

    http://www.thehindu.com/arts/magazine/living-in-past-glory/article4034360.ece

    Like

  9. Spoof on the piece, using Sakalakalavallavan
    http://kbalakumar.com/?p=1941 .

    Like

  10. Bachchan1 to 10 Says:

    Was watching Nayakan last night (again after years). I so wish I know the language to understand every single emotion of this film, Though it was subtitled it was not a very good translation, at times they have completely done away with few scenes, I really wish I knew the language to feel the characters. Also, the songs did not have any subtitles, How i wish I understood that little boys voice in the song when he arrives in Bombay. I have been humming it since last night without knowing what it really means.

    Like

    • yes the Pyramid DVD here is unfortunately poor in every sense. They were supposed to do a restored version of a number of key Ratnam films but they never did this one along with many others. Luckily they did Iruvar so I can’t complain though truthfully Nayagan needed the restoration even more.

      Like

      • Bachchan1 to 10 Says:

        Yes Sir, agreed, But then again I shouldn’t complain. At the least I am getting to watch it with some sort of subtitles rather than not watching it at all. I really want to watch Thevar Magan with subtitles but not able to find any on youtube or anywhere. Do you know of any website selling DVD with subtitles on this?

        Like

  11. btw recently i watched bits of an a-nil kapoor film called ‘viraasat”
    Liked it !
    i can smell some kamalahassan there–was it his script/direction/ story idea? or perhaps a remake of ?

    Like

    • Bachchan1 to 10 Says:

      Yes Alex, It was a remake of Thevar Magan, Where Shivaji ganesan is playing Amrish Puri’s role, and Anil is playing Kamaal Hassan’s role. It was actually written by Kamaal Haasan and in Virasaat it does show as Kamaal as the writer of the film.

      Like

  12. believe me, kash–i just had a rough hunch but did NOT know it..
    I just could feel it..
    The scene just before Amrish puris death, the ‘chest pain’
    the long hair initially and the makeover post interval
    the tabu and the other leggie girl angle
    I coudl just sense kamalahassan there

    the guys brilliant –period
    Others like rajni kant, mohan lal etc should queue up and learn from this guy 🙂

    Like

    • Bachchan1 to 10 Says:

      I’ll take your word for it Alex, I too am a huge admirer of Hassan, But can’t make assessement on others with him when I haven’t seen other folks important films or for that matter even Hassans’ some works I have missed, So can’t really make an objective statement here. But yes, I have seen many more films of Hassan then the other two, and more of Rajni than Lal.

      Like

  13. yeah kash–your is the reasonable viewpoint

    Even i dont normally jump to conclusions (mostly)
    But sometimes the ‘gap’ and verdict is obvious even on limited exposure
    KH is the real thing…

    I didnt call Kamalahassans Indias Mr Cinema for nothing

    ps–which are the films uve been watching (apart form your ;home videos’) 🙂

    Like

    • Bachchan1 to 10 Says:

      Fair enough Alex, If KH does it for you great. And honestly I may be able to see why he is Mr. Cinema for you. Cause if you take Lal and couple others out of the equation, He clearly is the winner by a margin.
      Actually, Introduced wifey to Zanjeer over the weekend. She loved it. Her favorite was Sher Khan in the film. This is her assessment. “This movie does not look like it was made 35 odd years ago, though some songs take you to that time and make you feel the 70s vibe, The way the film is made and the story it seems like a very contemporary film and if this is bachchan’s earlier works, I cant wait to see the rest of it from the 70’s” SO mission accomplished. I know she was always liked bachchan but I wanted to get her to like bachchan from the 70’s, she has yet to see Deewar, Trishul, Don and Muqadar Ka Sikandar and Mr. Natwarlal(these are some of my favs from 70s’ and want her to watch these first).

      Like

  14. Wow kash– putting her thoughts here is a good gesture
    convey my best regards to her

    ps–hearing all that, i may come around to watching zanjeer (after all)! 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.